Прогнозирование продаж. Практическое руководство
Specialized school for managers of pharmaceutical companies
Tel: +380 44 390 - 33 - 96

Treatment payback of marketing from short-sightedness

pharminvest1

Marketing budget is usually the first to fall under the reduction – it is a fact of life. The reduction of the budget in other areas of the business affects people, expensive equipment, and marketing budget can be restored in the next year. Thus, reducing the marketing budget – is often the first reaction of most financial directors of many companies. According to the financiers, the effectiveness of control marketing costs are significantly lower than the control of production costs, sales and service logistics (research Shaw & Fisk, 2002). The need for better control of marketing and its reporting is recognized not only financiers, but also marketers.

Myopia return on marketing – a common symptom of many companies and different industries. Most marketers happy to talk about creativity, that marketing deserves to be seen as the main engine, the “heart of the business,” but many are beginning to get bored when it comes to calculating a cost-effectiveness and on budgets.
Surprisingly, very little attention to the costs and budget allocation is reflected in the majority of books on marketing. For example, the volume of the material devoted to the evaluation and determination of the cost of investment and marketing budget can be seen in the following data:
- Textbook Kotler Marketing Management, Volume 7 – 1.7% of the total volume of the book (the advertising budget of 1.5 pages, the budget for promotion – 2 pages, the cost of marketing on sales analysis – 1 page, etc.)
- Tutorial Aaker Managing Brand (1991) – 0%
- Doyle, Marketing Management and Strategy, Edition 2 – 0.8% (budgeting – 0.25 page advertising budget – 3 pages)
- MacDonald, Marketing Plans, 4th Edition – 0.3% (marketing budget – 1.5%)

Can you trust the marketing money? Management reporting provides ten times more information on the costs than income, marketing research is more concerned with awareness of their brands. Such indifference to money often leads to the fact that the marketing companies do not trust.

There are two ways to solve problems. The first – to address issues as they come and try to explain the black hole costs related to marketing, it is impossible to measure and distinguish between many other parts of the business, particularly the sales department, poor CRM system, intangible assets and so on. The second way – to try to deal with the financiers. Define together how and what can be measured and calculated. What are the indicators to assess the financial director in the consideration of reports of managers marketing?

Especially for product managers of pharmaceutical companies developed a seminar that addresses the possible financial assessment tools marketing effectiveness and solution of the conflict between financiers and marketing managers.

Seminar “Financial evaluation of marketing investments” – 23 May. Sign up!

Comments are closed.

Финансовая оценка маркетинговых инвестиций
Специализированное обучение для менеджеров фармацевтических компаний
Тел: +380 44 390 - 33 - 96

Лечение окупаемости маркетинга от близорукости

pharminvest1

Бюджет маркетинга обычно первым попадает под сокращение – это факт из жизни. Уменьшение бюджета в других областях бизнеса влияет на людей, дорогостоящее оборудование, а бюджет маркетинга можно восстановить уже в следующем году. Таким образом, сокращение маркетингового бюджета – это часто первая реакция большинства финансовых директоров многих компаний. По оценкам финансистов, эффективность контроля маркетинговых затрат значительно ниже, чем контроль затрат на производство, службу продаж и логистику (исследование Shaw &Fisk, 2002). Необходимость лучшего контроля за маркетингом и его отчетностью признается не только финансистами, но и маркетологами.

Близорукость окупаемости маркетинга – это общий симптом многих компаний и разных отраслей. Большинство маркетологов с удовольствием говорят о креативности, о том, что маркетинг заслуживает, чтобы его считали основным мотором, «сердцем бизнеса», но многие начинают скучать, когда речь заходит о рассчете эффективности затрат и о бюджетах.
На удивление, очень незначительное внимание к затратам и распределению бюджета отражено в большинстве книг по маркетингу. К примеру, объемы материала посвященного оценке и определению издержек, инвестиций и бюджета маркетинга можно увидеть в следующих данных:

-       Учебник Ф. Котлера Marketing Management, 7 издание – 1,7% от общего объема книги (рекламный бюджет -1,5 страницы, бюджет на продвижение – 2 страницы, затраты маркетинга на анализ продаж – 1 страница и т.д.)
-       Учебник Аакера Managing Brand (1991) – 0%
-       Дойл, Marketing Management and Strategy, 2 издание – 0,8% (бюджетирование – 0,25 страницы, рекламный бюджет – 3 страницы)
-       МакДоналд, Marketing Plans, 4-е издание – 0,3% (маркетинговый бюджет – 1,5%)

Можно ли доверять деньги маркетингу? Управленческая отчетность предоставляет в десять раз больше информации о затратах, чем о доходах, маркетинг больше озабочен исследованиями уровня осведомленности о своих брендах. Такое равнодушие к деньгам часто приводит к тому, что маркетингу в компании не доверяют.

Есть два пути решения проблемы. Первый – решать вопросы по мере их поступления и попробовать объяснить черные дыры затрат, относящихся к маркетингу, невозможностью многое измерить и разграничить от других отделов бизнеса, в частности отдела продаж, плохой CRM системой, нематериальными активами и так далее. Второй путь – попробовать разобраться вместе с финансистами. Определить совместно что и как можно замерить и рассчитать. Какие показатели оценивают финансовые директора при рассмотрении отчетов менеджеров маркетинга?

Специально для продакт-менеджеров фармацевтических компаний разработан семинар, на котором рассматриваются возможные инструменты финансовой оценки маркетинговой эффективности и решение конфликта между финансистами и менеджерами по маркетингу.

Семинар “Финансовая оценка маркетинговых инвестиций”. Регистрируйтесь!

Обсуждение закрыто.